Skip to content

Green Chili

September 13, 2011

As part of our local CSA, a couple weeks ago we got some tomatillos in our basket. Now, my last experience with tomatillos was growing them in our family garden way back in Jr. High, so I really had no idea how to use them. Then, just in time for the break in hot weather we had been having, I came across this recipe in my latest edition of Cuisine at Home – and, lo and behold, what was one of the main ingredients? Tomatillos!

The actual recipe is Green Chicken Chili with White Beans, and that is how I made it. However, no surprise, I think it would have tasted better sans chicken, and I wish I would have saved out a portion of it meatless. Ah well.

I didn’t follow the recipe to the letter, but I think that’s how soups are – just wing it if you don’t have all the ingredients!

Green Chili
Recipe from Cuisine at Home (Oct 2011)

Soak:
1 1/2 cups dry great northern beans

Add:
4 cups chopped tomatillos
4 cups seeded, diced Anaheim chiles (about 8 chiles)
2 cups each diced onion and jalepenos (about 5 chiles)
3 Tbsp. minced garlic
1 Tbsp. ground cumin
2 tsp. died oregano
1 tsp. ground coriander
4 cups chicken or vegetable broth

Stir:

4 cups shredded chicken (or not!)
1/4 cup masa harina (I used the same corn flour mix for making corn tortillas)
3 Tbsp. fresh lime juice
Salt and black pepper to taste

Garnish:

Lime wedges, sour cream, and chopped fresh cilantro

Soak beans according to the package directions (I just did it overnight in the crock pot full of water); drain, then add to a 5-6 quart slow cooker.
Add tomatillos, Anaheim chiles, onion, jalepenos, garlic, cumin, oregano, coriander, and broth to the slow cooker. Cook chili on high-heat setting until beans are tender, about 4 1/2 hours (I did it on low while I was at work – over 8 hours).
Stir chicken and masa haring into chili; cook 30 minutes more. Stir in lime juice. Season chili with salt and black pepper.
Garnish each serving with lime wedges, sour cream, and cilantro.

Chili sans chicken -yum!

After adding the chicken and the masa harina, served with quesadillas on the side.

Just in time for fall! 🙂

veg out,

Liz

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

