Skip to content

Cupcakes And Crepes: A Weekend With The Fam

February 27, 2011

This weekend I was able to make a surprise visit to my family up in Michigan. I love getting to see them, because with my mom and dad plus my seven brothers and sisters (with one more soon to come home from Ethiopia) you are pretty much guaranteed to have a party of a time. And with that many mouths to feed, you are also guaranteed to spend a lot of time in the kitchen – good thing my family loves cooking! I owe a lot of my general cooking know-how to my mom (and a lot of yummy recipes!), who always had us helping out in the kitchen growing up. So, it is definitely a joy to come home and join in with the kitchen chaos. 🙂

This weekend, I had the pleasure of cooking up some yummy treats with the youngest of the kitchen helpers in the fam. Saturday night, my little sister Chloe wanted to make cupcakes, since I brought her some snowman cupcake papers that I found on clearance after Christmas. So we went the quick and easy route with a cherry cake mix tucked away in the pantry and some easy homemade cream cheese frosting (cream cheese, vanilla, and powdered sugar). She was pretty proud of her fancy cupcakes.

We also whipped up this little piece of heaven for those of us more chocolate-ly inclined..sadly it was scarfed down without thought to taking a picture of it in all its deliciousness.

Sunday morning I was talked into making one of my specialty treats – crepes. Now, you have to believe me when I say this – crepes are not that hard to make. I promise! Time consuming, yes. Difficult, no. Here’s the recipe I use from Stolen Moments Cooking – the directions are really thorough, so there is no need for me to rehash them here.

This time I had the pleasure of cooking with the newest addition to the family, 2 1/2 year old Amayah Tihun. She came home from Ethiopia only three weeks ago and is doing great adjusting to being a part of the fam. As you will see below, she thoroughly enjoyed the fruits of her labor.

This was the first time that I tried making crepes on a cast iron skillet instead of a non-stick pan. I was very pleased to find out that it worked wonderfully – it helped that the pan was very well seasoned. I wouldn’t try crepes on a non-seasoned cast iron pan. It also made it a little more difficult to spread the batter around, since cast iron is so heavy, so I might use a non-stick pan if it is your first time making them.

With so many crepe loving people to feed, we decided to make them giant sized!

Topped off with a little blueberry sauce (frozen blueberries warmed on the stove with a little sugar and cinnamon – mix a scoop of cornstarch with cold water and add to the boiling blueberries to thicken the sauce a bit) these crepes were quite deeelicious!


Hope you had just as great of a weekend as I did!

-liz

PS Thanks to Brenda for filling in for my Soup Sunday post – sounds tasty.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2011 5:54 pm

    Those crepes look amazing! I’ve eaten plenty of them in my day, but never had the guts to make them myself. There’s always a first time for everything though, right?

    Sounds like a good Saturday-morning-breakfast idea!

    • February 27, 2011 5:55 pm

      P.S. – What great pictures! Cute kids!

      • February 28, 2011 8:02 am

        Yeah…I also stole my moms camera for the weekend …it takes such great pictures!

    • February 28, 2011 8:00 am

      You should most definitely try…they really are easy…especially if you don’t care if they look absolutely perfect! 🙂

  2. April 10, 2011 7:29 pm

    Finally made ’em! Whew they were good!

    Thanks for the idea 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Lazy Day Crepes « healthy food | lazy people

Leave a Reply

