Skip to content

Multi-Grain Pancakes

February 22, 2011

Okay, level with me here… you are still making pancakes from a box mix aren’t you? It always surprises me when people use box mixes for things, because it is so simple to mix it up yourself. Especially since most box mixes require you to measure out oil and milk/water, and crack some eggs – how hard could it be to measure out some flour, salt, and baking powder too? Also, you can always mix together a large batch of the dry ingredients and store it in the freezer – just like a box mix! 🙂

Growing up, pancakes were always one of our essential, “what’s for dinner?” meals (and breakfast too of course!). My mom has the best pancake recipe around (biased, I know!) and she could whip up a quadruple batch of pancakes for us kids in under 15 minutes (minus the time to cook them on the griddle). I will post that delicious basic pancake recipe sometime soon, but today I have my second favorite recipe – Good (Cheap) Eats Multi Grain Pancakes.

One thing that is important to remember about these pancakes is that all the added ingredients tend to make them not stick together quite as well during cooking because they are heavier – this can make them hard to flip. I usually try and wait for them to get pretty solid before I flip them.

Multi-Grain Pancakes

3/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup unbleached flour
1/2 cup cornmeal
1/3 cup quick cooking oats
3 Tablespoons sugar, brown sugar, sucanat, or honey
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt

2 cups buttermilk
1/3 cup oil
2 eggs
1 cup blueberries (or other fruit)

In large mixing bowl, combine dry ingredients, whisking to combine. In other bowl, combine wet ingredients. Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and stir just until mixed. Some lumps are okay. Fry on hot, buttered griddle until brown and cooked through.

These pancakes are great because the add-ins are unlimited. I usually add in some ground flaxseed and some wheat bran/germ. You could also use all white whole wheat flour or experiment with other (non-wheat) flours. I was going to grind up some buckwheat in my blend-tec for these ones, but I was pressed for time. I find that they are especially delicious with berries added in – this time I split the batter and used up leftover pumpkin puree and cherries I had from Pumpkin Muffins and Cherry Bread. For the pumpkin pancakes I also added a sprinkling of cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, and ground cloves. For the cherry pancakes I drained the cherries and just added them to the batter.

Yum!

-liz

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Hannah permalink
    February 22, 2011 12:32 pm

    Wanna make me some?

Leave a Reply

